Sewing Thoughts #3

This is a new regular feature that I’m trying out here. It’s simply a peak at what’s been going on in my head, related to sewing. There will tentatively be one Sewing Thoughts post every other Saturday. I hope that these posts will generate some discussion and sharing of experiences. 

What’s on my sewing machine right now: Nothing…still. I am in the process of packing up all my sewing things and moving them to our new apartment, where my sewing machine and I will basically have the guest bedroom to ourselves. I think my husband is as happy as I am that I will have a dedicated work space for all my sewing paraphernalia.

A follow up on cleaning out my sewing stash: If you’ve been following along here you may have noticed that figuring out a plan for what to do with my scrap and remnant fabric stash has been occupying my mental real estate for awhile. I think I finally have a plan that leaves me with no guilt over my fabric-hoarding ways. The first step of my plan is to assess what fabric I have and sort it into these categories:
  1. Fabric for future projects: This pile will mainly contain fabric that I’ve purchased recently with specific uses in mind as well as a few larger remnants that I can easily see myself using.
  2. Fabric for scrubbers and patchwork: This pile consists of remnants from past projects that I’ve cut into 8 inch wide rectangles that I will (hopefully) use for making cleaning scrubbers and for trying a few patchwork projects.
  3. Fabric for charity: This is the pile that will allow me to feel less guilt when I go out and buy some new fabric when it seems like I have so much already. It contains everything from tiny fabric scraps to larger pieces that I know I’ll never get around to using for one reason or another. This pile will be donated to Goodwill.

About donating fabric to Goodwill: Many people who sew, myself included, have strong feelings about caring for our resources and living conscientiously. I like my surroundings to be simple and clutter-free as much as possible. I try not to be sentimental about keeping things that I don’t use. For this reason, I am trying to pare down my fabric stash to only what I know I can use. However, I don’t want my waste to clutter up the earth by sending it to a landfill.

This is where Goodwill comes in. I reached out to my regional Goodwill headquarters to find out whether they accepted fabric donations. This was their answer:
Thank you for choosing Goodwill for your donations.   We accept fabric as a donation.  If it cannot be sold in our stores then it is sold in a  secondary market still generating revenue towards our mission.  As you may know, we depend on generous donors, like yourself, and shoppers to earn revenue to support our Mission and provide training, employment and supportive services for people with disabilities or disadvantages who seek greater independence.  Thank you for the opportunity to serve you and for your support of the Goodwill Mission.

I am glad to know that someone will be benefiting from what I cannot use. I feel much better knowing that my creative outlet isn’t going to have any harmful side effects for others. If you feel similarly, I encourage you to reach out to your local Goodwill or other charity shop to find out what they do with fabric donations.

Leave a Reply

