Looking Back at 2012, Setting Goals for 2013

I found my year in review stats very interesting and wanted to share them with all of you. I also used them in addition to some of my own personal reflections on the year to set some goals for the coming year. Here are my (somewhat disorganized, sorry) thoughts on those two topics.

  • My most popular post of 2012 corresponds to my favorite project of 2012. I think that makes a lot of sense and makes me want to make more awesome projects that I will love as much as you. 
  • I wrote about 25 posts in 2012. My goal for 2013 is to write 50 posts. I know that doubling my amount of posts seems like a lot, but it still averages out to about one a week.
  • To make the above goal attainable and to create more balance in my life, I hope to sew at least once a week. It might be for as little as five minutes, but I want to make my personal interests a priority. I am so easily overwhelmed by my to-do list each week and don’t put sewing on it. I then don’t end up doing any sewing because I haven’t prioritized it. The trick will be not making myself feel like sewing is another task on my to-do list.
  • I was absolutely amazed that my little blog has been read by people in so many countries! It just shows what a universal skill sewing is, I guess. I’m humbled and awed to be a part of such a diverse and widespread group.
  • My goal related to this statistic is to build my sewing network/community, both locally and globally. I don’t have concrete ideas about how to do this yet, but I’m going to be on the lookout for other sewing-enthusiasts in my social circles and beyond.
  • I want to do more sewing-related teaching. I am a teacher by profession, but I have very little experience teaching anything sewing-related. I think that teaching what I know about sewing would help stretch my abilities as a teacher and benefit those wishing to learn about sewing. So look out for tutorials and/or original patterns here this year as I attempt to share my knowledge of sewing and learn a little in the process. (Doing this is one way that I might be able to use to build my sewing circle too.)
  • I’m going to do a challenging project this year because I know I have a lot to learn still and I think the best way to learn is by doing. I’m not sure yet what this skill-building project will be, but I have a few ideas. Right now the one I’m leaning towards most is making a quilt. I’ve never tried and think I might like it and learn quite a bit through the experience.
  • I also have one more goal for this year that I’m keeping close to my chest for now because I’m not really sure if it’s attainable in one year, but I’ll be sure to let you know if I reach it!

Cheers (a little late) to 2013 and all the possibilities that lie ahead! Let me know in the comments if there was anything that struck you about the 2012 year in review or if there’s anything specific you’d like to see here in 2013.

The WordPress.com stats helper monkeys prepared a 2012 annual report for this blog.

Here’s an excerpt:

600 people reached the top of Mt. Everest in 2012. This blog got about 3,600 views in 2012. If every person who reached the top of Mt. Everest viewed this blog, it would have taken 6 years to get that many views.

Click here to see the complete report.

Leave a Reply

