Sewing Room Reflection: Amateur

I’m an amateur sewer. I’m not a professional. I have not been specially trained to write about, photograph or even sew my own clothing and accessories. I don’t have any credentials that I can show you to prove that I am good at what I do.

Sometimes this fact makes me second-guess what I’m doing here. I wonder why anyone would choose to read my blog when there are much more professional sewing websites. I worry that people will think I’m unqualified to share what I’ve made or give out sewing advice because I’m not a professionally trained seamstress.

But recently I learned that being an amateur shouldn’t have such a negative connotation in my mind. The word “amateur” actually means “lover”. Rather than thinking of myself as a non-professional sewer, I should just think of myself as a lover of sewing. With this new-to-me definition of amateur, I feel much freer to embrace my role without fear or worry. When I think about it this way, I’m much happier as an amateur sewer.

I sew and photograph what I sew and write about what I sew because I love sewing. I may not be especially qualified to do these things, and it may show, but I hope the love I put into it shows too. Though I may not look at my own blog and see the same level of work as I find on professional websites, I still hope that I can contribute something worthwhile on my little corner of the Internet.

Leave a Reply

