Trendy Color-blocked Sundress

This is probably the last summer sundress I will make in 2012. But I think it turned out beautifully, so I’m not terribly sad. (The only sad part is that I know my sewing pace slows down once back-to-school hits.) This dress immediately made my to-sew list when I saw this pattern come out last spring. And I knew it would be my chance to try some color-blocking. It also has a high-low hem, so it’s extra trendy, especially for me.

 

This dress is so comfortable, as well as being pretty smart-looking. It is a loosely fitted dress and the rayon challis fabric is so soft and drapey. I like that it reminds me of the shift dresses that were popular in the 1920s and 1930s, probably my favorite style-era. I don’t know if I’ll make this dress again, just because it is such a distinct look, but I am very glad I tried it out.

 

Design/Pattern: Simplicity 1892, view C

Materials: pink & red rayon challis, matching thread

 

Techniques:

  • bust darts
  • french seams
  • bias tape faced arm and neck line
  • curved hem (the trickiest part of the pattern)

Alterations/Changes: None, and I probably wouldn’t make any if I made it again, as long as I was working with a fabric of similar weight and drape.

 

Like I said, this dress is comfortable, trendy, easy to make and fits great. I don’t think I could give it a grade lower than an A. The only real improvement I could have made is the construction on the arm and neck lines. The stitching isn’t perfect; it’s a little wavy. But it’s certainly nothing to worry about. I’m extremely happy with the project and I’m sorry it took me a couple weeks to share it here.

2 thoughts on “Trendy Color-blocked Sundress

  1. Pingback: Give it a Twirl Skirt | Fresa Handmade

  2. Pingback: Sewing Plans: Laurel Shift Dress | Fresa Handmade

Leave a Reply

