Compact Lunch Sack

The start of the school year is right around the corner for my husband and I (both of us are high school teachers). After the last three years using the same oil cloth lunch bag, it was time for me to make a new one for Peter. I think this will do just the trick. It has a little bit of style, is roomy enough for a balanced lunch and is still compact enough to throw in his messenger bag.

 

 

Design/Pattern: I combined the measurements for the extra small and extra large bags in the Origami Bag Set pattern from Amy Butler’s Style Stitches Book.

Materials: leftover gray corduroy, ivory twill and rust broadcloth from previous projects, fusible interfacing, zipper, leftover cotton webbing, thread

 

Techniques:

  • inserting a zipper
  • lining a bag
  • piecing fabrics (although not very well if you look closely)
  • creating a bag gusset

Alterations/Changes: As I mentioned above, I used hybrid measurements from two of the bag sizes so that I would end up with the shape I was hoping for. Next time I would make it wider so that the gusset can be deeper though.

 

Peter would probably give me a higher grade than I’m going to give myself because he thinks it’s just right, but I’m only giving this bag a B. As I mentioned, the size is a little off from what I think it should be and the piecing isn’t perfectly aligned at the seams. However, the zipper insertion looks great and I like the trim handle. I will probably be making a version of this for myself soon and hope to raise my grade to an A.

Leave a Reply

