Sewing Thoughts #2

This is a new regular feature that I’m trying out here. It’s simply a peak at what’s been going on in my head, related to sewing. There will tentatively be one Sewing Thoughts post every other Saturday. I hope that these posts will generate some discussion and sharing of experiences. 

What’s on my sewing machine right now: Nothing…again. I have completed two projects and shared one of those with you since the last time though.

A follow up about photographing projects: My thoughtful husband, who is technically the owner of the wonderful camera I use to photograph my projects, also wanted to learn more about getting great quality photos every time. So he did what my husband would do in this situation–he bought a book! We’re working on learning more about how to take the kinds of photographs we want & need in our lives. I’ll keep you posted on my progress and might review the book once I’ve read it and tested it out.
Cleaning out my sewing stash: Moving always seems to necessitate the sometimes grueling process of figuring out what to keep and what to throw away or donate. I usually find this process very freeing, but not when it comes to fabric. I have begun the process of sorting through my fabrics and deciding what to do with them. It’s difficult to be honest with myself at times and throw out even a small fraction of a yard that I’m sure I’ll never need for another project. I’d much rather find a use for every inch of fabric that I own.
Leave a Reply

