Basic But Beautiful Tank Top

I often feel more excitement about tackling more complex or unique projects, but there is something very satisfying about making a beautiful basic item. That was the case with this tank top. It is such a simple item with only two pattern pieces, but that meant I was able to put my sewing efforts into perfecting the construction. I started with a pattern that I knew would fit perfectly (a shift pattern block that I’ve used as the base for many projects), chose a lovely fabric (a navy rayon challis on sale for about $3 a yard at my local Hancock’s), and used the best techniques that I know to construct a staple piece that I’m excited to add to my wardrobe.

Design/Pattern: my basic shift pattern block, taken from Built by Wendy Dresses, shortened and widened a smidge

Materials: 1 yard of navy rayon challis, bias tape made from the leftovers

Techniques:

  • bust darts
  • French seams
  • applying bias tape finishes to arm & neck openings

Alterations/Changes:

  • shortened dress pattern to hip length
  • brought the neckline down about one inch
  • widened about 1 inch at the hem, tapering up to the waist

I wanted to wear this top immediately after I had it hemmed, which is always a good sign. This tank top, although very simple, deserves an A. It’s going to do its job very nicely. It looks good on its own with shorts, jeans or a skirt, but it also layers nicely under sweaters and jackets. If that doesn’t make it a perfect basic, I don’t know what would. The color will also coordinate well with my recent navy blue kick.

4 thoughts on “Basic But Beautiful Tank Top

  1. Pingback: Give it a Twirl Skirt | Fresa Handmade

  2. Sorry this is a query about an old post, but did you cut it on the bias or straight of grain? I want a similar top ( yours looks beautiful, by the way) but I’ve got silk charmeuse which is very drapey and thought a bias treatment would be suitable. Thanks, I’d like to hear your reply.

Leave a Reply

