Red & White Medallions Dress

Summer break is here, which means a few things. First, I’ll have more time to sew and post projects and thoughts here. Second, it’s hot out. And third, it’s time for some new summer dresses! This one was a breeze to make up and to wear to a little shindig that kicked off the start of summer break.

There is very little shaping with this dress design. There are a few gathers at the neckline, but other than that it’s very straight and simple until you get to the flounce at the bottom. This shape is somewhat new for me. I tend to make dresses with some sort of shaping at the waist. However, I love this new dress and plan on making other dresses with a similar silhouette.

Design/Pattern: Simplicity 1879, view A (minus the sleeves and back yoke pieces)

Materials:

  • red & white medallion printed cotton voile from JoAnn’s, part of the Lissette line
  • white cotton voile for lining
  • white double fold bias tape
  • matching thread

Techniques:

  • French seams
  • finished upper edges & made shoulder straps with double fold bias tape
  • machine rolled narrow hem

Alterations/Changes:

  • omit sleeves and back yoke from Simplicity 1879 pattern, view A
  • add a lining, for opacity

This is a grade A dress, I think. It fits nicely, is comfortable and is a unique new style for me. At first, I was afraid I had made it a size too small, but I think it was just the extreme heat we’re having that makes all clothing feel too tight. I’m sure I’ll wear it often throughout the summer. In my opinion, it’s perfect for everyday wear or for a fun summer date.

One thought on “Red & White Medallions Dress

Leave a Reply

