Sewing Thoughts #1

This is the first in a new regular feature that I’m trying out here. It’s simply a peak at what’s been going on in my head, related to sewing. There will tentatively be one Sewing Thoughts post every other Saturday. I hope that these posts will generate some discussion and sharing of experiences. 

What’s on  my sewing machine right now: Nothing. I do have fabric to tackle though.

Photographing projects: When I look back over the photos I’ve taken of my various projects, I’m often a little disappointed. I use a very good quality camera to take pictures, but I think I need to learn more about all the different settings in order to get the crisp photos I am hoping for. I take most of my photos indoors out of necessity and end up with very prominent shadows in the background. I’m not sure how to get rid of these shadows in the process of taking the picture or by editing. I have tried using a flash, an indirect flash and no flash. Nothing seems to completely fix the problem for me though. Any tips?
Sewing for charity: A significant amount of my “stash” of fabric is made up of scraps ranging in size from a few inches to a half yard. I would love to be able to use up this portion of my stash by sewing for a charity. However, I haven’t (yet) found a charity that seems to need sewn items. I don’t want to simply sew up some stuff and randomly donate it without having any idea whether what I’m donating is useful to the cause. Do you have any experience sewing for charity?
One thought on “Sewing Thoughts #1

  1. I’ve started using PicMonkey to touch up my photos (super-easy even for a click-and-shoot camera novice like me!) . . . and you can also make fun collages with your photos (and choose different colors for the borders). It’s made a huge difference in my pictures, so you might want to try it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

