Ladies’ Weekend Bags

My mom, two sisters and I all live in different cities, which means we don’t get to spend as much time together as we would like. And when we are together, it’s often for a special occasion. We rarely get together “just because”, and when we do husbands, boyfriends and others are often part of the mix. I don’t mean to say that the others are unwelcome, but it is extra special when my mom, sisters and I are able to spend some “girl” time together. Earlier this month, we got the chance to do just that, and to celebrate the occasion I made coordinating tote bags.

We had a wonderful weekend together and the new bags came in handy. The design was inspired by this one. I made very minor changes to the original pattern so that there would be no fabric wasted and so that the bag had a gusseted bottom. They went together very easily. The only somewhat annoying part of the process was changing the thread color so often!

Design/Pattern: Modified Inside-Out Bag, from the Purl Bee

Materials: (for one bag)

  • 1/2 yard of natural colored cotton canvas
  • 1 1/2 yards of cotton webbing for handles
  • 1 package double fold bias tape
  • coordinating thread

Techniques:

  • lots of top stitching!

Alterations/Changes:

  • dimensions of the bag (18″ x ??”)
  • dimensions of the pocket (18″ x ??)
  • longer handles

I love my new bag and hope my mom and sisters love theirs too! I think part of the reason I like it so much is because of the memories I will associate with it. I have to give these bags an A+ because of the great time we had together and because the bags themselves are also pretty great even though they are simple.

I also have to mention that the colors I chose suited everyone perfectly. It was rather providential, actually. In the store, I just picked four colors that I liked and that I thought looked good together. I was definitely influenced by the bright color trend going on currently. Then, as I was making the bags I only sort of decided which family member would get which color. When they arrived, my two sisters happened to be wearing shirts that were the same color as the bag I had intended for each one! We had a good laugh about that and everyone thought the color they got was the best one.

One thought on “Ladies’ Weekend Bags

  1. Pingback: Stadium Purse | Fresa Handmade

Leave a Reply

