Pajama Party

February is the perfect month for cozying up in a pair of flannel pj’s! This year, we both have a new pair of soft flannel pajamas for lounging and sleeping in. As you can see, Peter and I chose different styles–a tunic-style top and leggings for me and a classic, elastic-waistband style for him. Even though we both are pleased with the fit and comfort of our pajamas, the most exciting part of this project for me was making them on my new (to me) serger! Check out these finished seams!

I hope to do a whole post about what it’s been like to learn to use my new serger, so I won’t go into too much detail about it right now. Let me just say that this was a wonderful Christmas/birthday gift and thank you to my husband (who was the mastermind of this gift), his Aunt Marge, cousin Lauren, sister Emily and mom Donna who all helped get this gift to me. I love it!

These pajamas were the perfect first project for getting a feel for my new “toy”. The level of difficulty was low and I could do most of the seams on the serger. I basically just had to use my sewing machine to do the hems and waistbands. It was so quick and the seams are so sturdy. It makes me wish I had a serger many years ago! Okay, enough gushing about my serger–here are some more details about these projects.

Materials:

  • 2 1/2 yards blue plaid flannel
  • 2 yards red polka dot flannel
  • 1 yard red cotton knit
  • 1 package red bias binding
  • thread
  • 1 snap
  • 1 inch wide elastic
  • 1/4 inch wide elastic

Patterns:

  • His pants: See & Sew 3698
  • My tunic: my own design, based on Dirndl dress bodice from Built By Wendy Dresses
  • My leggings: Clover pants, front & back pieces only

Techniques:

  • Serged seams!
  • Bias bound neckline and sleeve hems
  • Elastic waistbands/casings

These pajamas earn an A+! Mostly because I enjoyed making them so much! They are also perfectly comfortable and cozy. When it comes to pajamas, there isn’t anything more important than that.

2 thoughts on “Pajama Party

  1. Where to start?! Love boths sets of pjs, lovely prints, colours, fabric. But, wow, you have a serger 🙂 Serious serger envy going on here. I have often thought about buying one, and maybe one day soon…..

Leave a Reply

