Sewing Reflections and Predictions

Sew Mama Sew is sponsoring a series of posts about what has happened in the sewing world during 2011 and what’s to come in 2012. They’ve generously invited readers to share what they think on their own blogs. Here’s what I’ve got to say:

Looking back at the 2011 sewing scene, what trends stand out in your mind?
I mostly sew clothing and I’ve seen very feminine styles and details such as Peter Pan collars and scalloped hems this year. There continues to be a big interest in vintage and vintage-inspired styles.

What were some of your favorite things related to sewing this past year?
I personally had a great sewing year. I was able to buy more high quality fabrics, which motivated me to take my time and make the best possible garments. To do that, I looked to several new sources, patterns and techniques. Some of my favorites were Colette Patterns and Built by Wendy Dresses.

What did you make that you’re most proud of? (Share a photo in your post!)
The jacket I made for my husband is the project I am most proud of by far! I tried new techniques, I took my time to get the fit right, and it turned out decently well. I learned a lot along the way about what I would do differently next time, and, even though this project was a massive undertaking for me, I can actually imagine there being a “next time.”


What sewn projects have you seen this year that you absolutely love?
I discovered the Sew Weekly blog/website this year and it’s quickly become a favorite in my RSS feed. I am consistently blown away by what Mena and her crew are able to sew in a single week. I’m not even sure if I could pick a favorite from them all!

The dress that prompted my discovery of the Sew Weekly


Do you have a favorite sewing book or pattern from the past year to recommend?
As I mentioned above, I made great use of the book Builty by Wendy Dresses. I loved that I was able to start with a basic pattern that I knew would fit me and change the design. These are just two of the dresses started with a pattern from this book.


Are there any trends you’re over and done with?
I’m not too concerned with trends even when they are happening, so I’m definitely not the one to ask about which trends I’m done with.

What are your thoughts about social media? How is it going for you? What do you love or hate?
I’ve really enjoyed blogging this year. I get so excited by each and every visitor and comment that I get. Other than blogging, I pretty much stay out of social media. I’m not on Facebook or Twitter or Flickr or Pinterest. I’m not saying I won’t ever get into those, but for now I’m happy with my level of social media activity.


Did you have a favorite fabric collection or print in 2011?
I mostly sew with solids since I’m not a quilter, but I definitely loved seeing more fabric designers offer their prints on substrates that are more suitable for clothing. Of the prints that I used in 2011, my favorite was the Anna Maria Horner print that I used from her Innocent Crush collection.


What do you predict for 2012 in the sewing industry?
I wouldn’t call this a prediction as much as a hope, but I hope that the industry continues to grow and draw in a new, modern crowd. I would especially love to see the Big 4 pattern companies try to modernize their sizing and styles and offer more online support for using their products.


Can you tell us what to expect from you in 2012? Any big projects or life-changing goals?
I got some great sewing gifts for Christmas this year and hope to learn more as I use them. My goal for Fresa Handmade is to be able to incorporate my love of teaching more into the content you see here by posting tutorials or instructional posts. I have a few thoughts about this, but I haven’t figured out all of the logistics of how I want to put my idea into action.

Leave a Reply

