Better Late than Never Dress

Oh my, this dress has been plagued by procrastination. I bought the fabric in the middle of the summer with plans of having it ready to wear by October. And then I took on a rather complicated project that took a couple months. I got the dress cut out and put together rather quickly over my Thanksgiving break. Then I wore the dress a couple times before I took any pictures of it. Then a week or so went by before now, writing this post. That should explain the name of the dress. On to the more interesting details…

Design/Pattern: Simplicity 2365, view C/D

Materials: Jenaveve linen/cotton blend by Valori Wells, pink buttons, bias tape

Techniques:

  • French seams (side, side-front, & under arm)
  • button holes
  • stitch in the ditch (around collar & placket)
  • hemming
  • making a casing
Alterations/Changes:
  • lengthened by three inches

For how polished the finished dress looks, it was deceptively straight-forward to construct. I’m incredibly pleased with it over all. For this, I am giving this dress an A. It’s really practical for school, but it’s not too dressy for the weekend either. This pattern is a winner in my book. This shirt-dress style works so well in a variety of fabrics too. I plan on making another in the spring in chambray with contrast top stitching around the collar and button placket.

One thought on “Better Late than Never Dress

Leave a Reply

