Sewing History: The pattern

I just read an interesting article about the history of sewing patterns. You can read it here too. I learned quite a bit from it, and it made me think about aspects of sewing that I had never really considered before. For example, I knew that the “walk-away” dress pattern was a popular vintage pattern, but I didn’t realize it was a symbol of prosperity. I had also never considered that being able to sew “democratized fashion” (to use the author’s phrase) because that definitely seems so different from current reasons for sewing. Fashion changes so fast now and the typical woman has a pretty sizable wardrobe–I could never hope to keep up with current fashion by sewing everything. (Just to be 100% clear, I really have no aspirations to keep up with ever-changing fashion trends. I am speaking hypothetically.)

I enjoyed this post quite a bit and I hope you do too. If you learn something new or think about something in a new way, I’d love to know about it in the comments.

One thought on “Sewing History: The pattern

Leave a Reply

