Labor of Love Jacket, Part 4

I can’t believe it’s been almost a whole month since I posted any progress on the labor of love jacket. It’s a little embarrassing! After a summer full of projects, the beginning of the fall has not been nearly as productive. The good news is that I have completed some of the most intricate work.

The front of the jacket is completed! This included putting darts in the front, joining the front with the side panels (didn’t know this, but men’s jacket’s often don’t have a side seam), and sewing three welt pockets. The welt pockets required a lot of work and patience, but I think they went in pretty well. Here’s a little peak inside one:

Under the flaps and inside the pockets are lined in royal blue. I think it looks pretty sharp, but I also wanted to be sure that the blue didn’t peak out at the edges of the flap. To ensure this, I trimmed 1/8 inch from the edges of the lining only. When I sewed the outer flap to the lining and then turned it, the outer flap was just a smidge wider. When the flap was pressed, the gray corduroy rolled to the inside a bit, which hides the lining fabric from view.

Here’s a nice view of the lower flap pocket and the upper welt pocket. You can also see the nap of the corduroy here. All of the main pieces and the pocket flaps were cut with the fabric going one direction, but the welt of the upper pocket was cut in the opposite direction. You can see the difference because of the light of the flash, but it’s not really visible in person.

I know there’s a lot of work ahead of me, but I feel like I’ve crossed a milestone in this process. I can begin to see what the final jacket is going to look like. Peter is very anxiously looking forward to it being completed and I am too.

2 thoughts on “Labor of Love Jacket, Part 4

Leave a Reply

