Simple Mint Gelato

My creativity isn’t limited to sewing this week. I made my own fresh mint gelato. It was so simple and has such a refreshing flavor. It’s been very hot, so mint was the perfect flavor to cool my palate and satiate my sweet tooth. I don’t have a picture for you because we ate it right out of the ice cream machine. I highly recommend you trust me and try this!

Ingredients:
3 cups milk (I used 1%)
3 teaspoons peppermint loose leaf tea
1/2 cup sugar
3 tablespoons cornstarch
1/4 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons vanilla extract

Process:
1. Heat 2 1/4 cups of the milk in a medium sized sauce pan over medium heat. As it’s heating, place tea leaves in a tea steeping ball and put the ball in the milk to infuse it with mint flavor. When the milk has just reached a boil, remove the tea ball.

2. While the milk & peppermint tea leaves are heating, mix the sugar, cornstarch and salt in a separate bowl. Add the remaining 3/4 cup milk and whisk until smooth.

3. Add the sugar, cornstarch, milk mixture to the peppermint infused milk. Bring back up to a boil and whisk frequently for 3 minutes to thicken the mixture.

4. Cool the mixture in the fridge or by placing the mixture in a  bowl over an ice bath. Freeze in an ice cream maker according to the package directions.

2 thoughts on “Simple Mint Gelato

Leave a Reply

