Half-Circle Wrap Skirt

I have a new skirt to add to my wardrobe. I was in need of a project that would be a sure thing after my recent trials working with jersey knit. This project was just the ticket. It was two pieces–a half circle for the skirt and a rectangle for the waistband/ties. I’m not sure I could have chosen anything easier! Best of all, since it’s a wrap skirt that I drafted based on my own measurements I didn’t have to do any fitting or altering.

I have to be sure to mention that I haven’t forgotten about sewing the jacket for my husband. I got this fabric during our first attempt to find fabric for his project, but we didn’t find anything that was perfect. After looking around for fabric for him, I got side tracked by some fabrics for me. I wasn’t really planning on purchasing anything–I was just enjoying looking. However, Peter convinced me that I had to get the printed cotton for this skirt. He had to try really hard to convince me to buy a couple yards. (Ha!)

Design/Pattern: Half-circle wrap skirt, drafted by me based on instructions from Sew What! Skirts book

Materials:

  • 2 yards of printed woven cotton (slightly heavier weight than quilting cotton, but not as heavy as twill or sateen), picked out by my husband
  • thread
Techniques:
  • hemming (lots & lots!)
  • stitch in the ditch (waistband)
  • stitching & turning a tube (ties)
  • buttonhole (to secure the tie at one side)
Grade: A+! Even though this project was extremely simple, I think I still deserve a perfect score for the final result. There isn’t a thing I would change about this project. The fabric is an adorable print that goes with several shirts in my wardrobe and the style is great for wearing to work. It went together without a hitch as well. What more could I ask for?
5 thoughts on “Half-Circle Wrap Skirt

  1. I love this – it´s gorgeous! Have just been given some lengths of batik fabric and fabric from Singapore and there is only enough for a little skirt or top – so something like this would be perfect. It´s great when something turns out right…I had a half made dress which I was “customsing” and my puppy got hold of it. Oh dear, no more dress 😦

  2. Pingback: Project Preview, 8/15/11 | Fresa Handmade

  3. Pingback: How to: Draft a Half-Circle Wrap Skirt | Fresa Handmade

Leave a Reply

