Project Preview, 7/18/11

This is more of a dead giveaway than a preview, so I’ll go ahead and talk a little bit about my newest sewing pursuit. This is another gift project. For my husband’s birthday present I have decided to make him a jacket. He has wanted a casual-ish jacket for awhile now, but every time he tries them on in the store he’s not happy with how they fit. He has broad shoulders, but he’s on the shorter side. It’s difficult to find tailored clothing off-the-rack that fits him. This dilemma has prompted me to make what I’m dubbing the “Labor of Love Jacket”.

 This jacket from Banana Republic is the inspiration for the final look. It’ll be dressy enough to wear to work and casual enough to throw on with jeans. (It won’t have that goofy double pocket though.) We haven’t picked out a fabric yet, so it might look quite different color-wise or fiber-wise when all is said and done. We have landed on a pattern to use–Vogue Patterns V2836, pictured at the top. I’m planning to need to make a few changes here and there, but I’ll describe those when I get to them. Stick around to find out what challenges arise and how I greet them! It should be an interesting process full of sewing firsts for me.

Leave a Reply

