Teardrop Purse

My first post vacation project was to make this purse. It’s a gift for my mom’s birthday. Her birthday is past, but I haven’t seen her yet to give it to her. I hope she doesn’t see this and ruin the surprise. Although, it probably won’t be much of a surprise either way. She asked for a purse made by me and she picked a couple patterns she liked. Then, I asked her what colors matched her wardrobe best. After all that, I doubt there is much room left for surprise. Even so, I hope she likes it. I certainly had fun making it and thinking of all that my mom has made for me in my life.

Design/Pattern: The teardrop bag from Amy Butler’s Style Stitches, with a couple of my own additions (a zipper on the interior pocket and piping trim)

Materials:

  • Black broadcloth (exterior)
  • Teal cotton print (lining)
  • Bias binding & cord (to make piping trim)
  • Zipper (interior pocket)
  • Magnetic clasp
  • Fusible interfacing

Techniques:

  • Topstitching
  •  Lining
  • Sewing a zipper
  • Pleat

Grade: I think this purse is an A-/B+. I wish it was an A since I’m giving it away as a gift, but I’m afraid there are little details that could be nicer. In particular, the piping and topstitching on the handle are really wobbly if you look closely. From a distance, this project would get an A, but, up close, I can see little flaws. All in all, it’s a gift I’m proud to give. Happy Birthday, Mom!

2 thoughts on “Teardrop Purse

  1. I love the purse, expecially since it was made with love. But truthfully, it is a good size for taking along the basics that I need for an evening out, afternoon of shopping and looks classy with the black purse with turquoise trim and patterned interior. I like having the interior zippered pocket. The length of the shoulder strap is perfect for either on the shoulder use or across my body.

Leave a Reply

